Skip to main content

ITAL 4290 Italian Culture in Cinema (Ardizzoni): 3. Find Sources

Library Subscription Databases

Unlike the library catalog, databases mostly contain articles. There are different types of databases that hold many different types of information, but for this class we're focusing on databases that include articles from journals related to the disciplines of Film Studies, Italian, and Images.

Scholarly articles are published in Academic Journals. They are considered secondary sources because they provide commentary and analysis about primary sources like films, archival papers, diaries or the things you might find in our Special Collections & Archives.

Below is a short list of databases that we'll use for this class. Look for a Help Menu or "?" within the database to find search tips and additional help. Also, feel free to reach out to me, your librarian, or any of the library staff.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases are a good starting place for any topic. Check these for information on food, fashion, etc.

Subject-Specific Databases

These databases focus on a narrower subject area. Hover your mouse over the  to get more info about what areas each database covers.

Film / TV / Theater
Literature / Language
Art / Humanities
History
Social Sciences (Political Science, Sociology, etc.)
Gender Studies
Religious Studies
Statistics
Newspapers

Searching University Libraries Collections

OneSearch is the main search box you'll find on the library home page. It searches our library catalog, Chinook, plus a whole bunch of other great resources including article databases. If you know you need a book or journal, or to find out if we have a subscription, you can just use Chinook Classic.

Chinook has its own tips and search techniques. Check out the link below to learn how to use it like a pro!

Finding the Full Text of an Article in a Database

This graphic explains the process for using "Find it at CU," available in most databases and Google Scholar, to locate the full text of an article.

Text alternative for web accessibility - infographic

Infographic about finding the full text of an article in a database

VPN

VPN

VPN required for some off-campus access.
Download Now

Google Scholar Search

If located off campus, be sure to add CU to your Google Scholar Library Links under "Settings" in your browser.

BrowZine

Prospector vs. InterLibrary Loan (ILLiad)

Prospector and Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) login buttons.

Use Prospector to request physical materials from other Colorado libraries at no cost to you! Prospector is generally the quickest way (3-5 business days) to get materials not available at CU-Boulder. 

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request electronic materials from other libraries. You can also request physical materials like books that are not available at CU or in Colorado through Prospector.

Borrowing items from the library

To check out materials from University Libraries, you can take them to the Circulation Desk with your Buff OneCard. We also have self-check-out stations. To find out more, click on the link below: